Summer time and the reading is easy – update

I keep getting asked what I am reading this summer. So, I thought I’d share what has been in my beach bag and bedside table and what has been keeping me from getting my homework done.

Yes, I admit it. This summer’s themes were brain candy and series. Some times a girl has to have a bit of fluff in her reading. Everything in moderation. Some of the following titles were just really, really good. Others were good for a quick, fun reads. Click the links for the reviews as I get them written.

The Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross

Sense a theme? Steampunk and romance in 19th Century London. A handsome nobleman, a superman with some robotic parts, strong beautiful women, and evil doers.

Fun.

girl in the steel corsetgirl in the clockwork collargirl with the iron touch

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

shadow and bonesiege and storm

I just loved these books and am hoping the third meets with the standard set by these two. Original, mixed with folklore of Eastern Europe.

Definitely not a series to be left in the beach bag.

Impossible and Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin

impossibleextraordinary

Although not a series both books have fairies, curses, and girls who are struggling with who they are and what they are going to become.

I really enjoyed Impossible, Extraordinary was good but, boy, did I want to give Phoebe a good shake.

The Program by Suzanne Young

program

Apparently this is the first of a series. Not light, not fun. I had a student suggest it and I’m glad he did. It isn’t a beach book.

Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Cinderscarlet

I just loved these books. Original take on some old fairy tales. Meyer has done a great job taking the original story and making it into something new.

Fairy tale meets science fiction – how cool is that?

The Girl with the Borrowed Wings by Rinsai Rossetti

girl with the borrowed wings

This novel was a surprise for me. It was added to my list by my daughter. Starts slow but the rhythm of the novel is fluid and poetic. A novel about repression and desire, abuse and individuality.

The Reluctant Assassin (W.A.R.P. #1) by Eoin Colfer

Reluctant assassin

The fans of Artemis Fowl will enjoy meeting Chevron and Riley and the evil Albert Garrick. The action moves and the body count rises but Colfer still makes time for some sarcastic wit and backstory. Not my favorite Colfer book but it will definitely appeal to the middle school set.

Raven Flight by juliet Marillier

raven flightThe second book in the Shadowfell series, Raven Flight continues to follow Neryn as she tries to learn how to control her gift as a Caller. Meanwhile, Flint falls under suspicion at Keldec’s court. Definitely not a stand-alone, Shadowfell is fantasy in the high tradition. I love Marillier’s poetic language and pacing. I have been looking forward to this sequel for months.

Ascendency Trilogy by Susan Nielsen

false princerunaway king These books really reminded me of Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief, which I also enjoyed. These will be very popular with the grade 7-9 set. Filled with action, intrigue, impossible decisions, and sarcasm – just the right combination for this age group.

Leave a Reply

