Leverage by Joshua C. Cohen

 Well, it isn’t often that I am so completely split about a book. I must say Leverage was well written with characters that are well-formed and realistic. The story is a compelling look at steroids, bullying, and football – all that should make it a perfect fit for my school.

BUT

I just think Cohen went too far and that is a pity because it won’t get the word of mouth press it should. By taking the plot over the edge he has limited his audience. I understand the violence, although I think it may be excessive. I am more adverse to the way that the major characters deal with it. So, I won’t be suggesting this to my teens. I don’t think it should be recommended without a cautionary note.

Leave a Reply

