Best Canadian teen books for guys in 2012

I am at the CLA Conference this week listening to some really great talks. One of the sessions today was on the CLA Book Award Notables. It started me thinking what would be my picks (if I could choose) for the 2012 Canadian Book To Buy For Your Teen Guys Award (It’s a long title – give me a better name – I’ll run with it). As with CLA, I will choose from books published, in hard cover or paperback, in the previous year.

The nominees are (in no apparent order):

Dust City by Robert Paul Weston

Death Benefits by Sarah N. Harvey

Motorcycles and Sweetgrass by Drew Hayden Taylor

All Good Children by Catherine Austen

Fanatics by William Bell

This Dark Endeavour by Kenneth Oppel

Fly Boy by Eric Walters

Half Brother  by Kenneth Oppel

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Ashes, Ashes  by Jo Teggiari

And the winner is… I can’t decide. I have it down to my top 3. Think I’ll sleep on it.

Leave a Reply

